Experimenting with RunwayML to generate VHS-like lo-fi video effects

Week 8: VHS Sunset Dance with Runway

This week, I experimented with applying various models in RunwayML.

Sunset video generation with SkyGAN

I made a latent walk video using @madebyloo's SkyGAN from Runway, which is a StyleGAN2 model trained on orange sky datasets.

Applying a nebula style transfer to the sunset video

Applying nebula style transfer to the sunset video from Runway

While playing around with different models in Runway, I found that mixing nebula images to the sunset video using arbitrary image stylization looked pretty surreal. I did a image-to-video style transfer applying a nebula image to the generated sunset video.

Applying a sunset style transfer to a dance video

Applying the sunset style transfer to my webcam

Another interesting experiment I did was a video-to-video style transfer. I recorded a short video of me dancing in the dark using my laptop webcam. Then, I applied the arbitrary image stylization with the sunset video. The result was a video with lo-fi, VHS-ish effect.

Bonus: switching input videos

Additional experiment: I changed the order of video-to-video style transfer. This time I applied the arbitrary image stylization with my dance video to the sunset video. The results are as above.